Trust Not in Man

By D. S.

“The Lord says, “I will put a curse on people who trust in mere human beings, who depend on mere flesh and blood for their strength, and whose hearts have turned away from the Lord” (Jeremiah 17:5).

“Do not trust in princes, in mortal man, in whom there is no salvation” (Psalm 146:3).

“Stop regarding man, whose breath of life is in his nostrils; for why should he be esteemed?” (Isaiah 2:22).

These Old Testament verses plunge a dagger right at the heart of Roman Catholicism. The Roman Catholic Church, who trust and revere the pope as their “Holy Father”; who pray to Mary; who worship and bow down to statues and icons; and who call on deceased “Catholic saints” for guidance.

Deliverance from this blasphemous idolatry is of the utmost import; this blasphemous idolatry which grieves our only Holy Father, who is in heaven. John 4:24 says: “God is spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.” The pope, Mary, statues, icons, and Catholic saints, are not God; and therefore, are not to be worshipped. The worship by the least of Christ’s true flock is greater than the pseudo-worship of the whole of Vatican City.

Man is not infallible; only God is infallible. I put to the test all men who claim to know God; and let the Holy Spirit lead me away from those men that teach another gospel.

I trust only in the Lord for my salvation.
I trust only in the Lord to hear and answer my prayers.
I trust only in the Lord to forgive me of my sins.
I trust only in the Lord to sustain me.
I trust only in the Word of the Lord, the Holy Bible.

Can the Roman Catholic attest to these statements, and still remain Roman Catholic?

I don’t focus on pictures of the Lord Jesus cradled in His mother’s arms, with Mary assuming a superior or equal role. I don’t keep my eyes set on Jesus hanging on Calvary’s cross, as the Roman Catholic does. I see Jesus as the victorious risen Lord and Savior—the King of kings and Lord of lords. “… He who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords” (1 Timothy 6:15).

I don’t see Jesus as failing to fulfill all that He came to earth to do, as the Roman Catholic does. I see Jesus as having completely and successfully fulfilled the work of His Father; as John 19:30 attests to, when Jesus said, “It is finished!” The work of man’s redemption and salvation is now completed; a full satisfaction is made to the justice of God [italics mine].”

Leave a Reply

